Rebecca Whitley

Sophie Horne - Big Bears Keyworker

Sophie completed a placement at Sandy Bears in 2015 as part of her Early Childhood Studies degree. Since then Sophie has worked on our supply list regularly in both rooms for 2 years. Since completing her degree in May 2017 she has been employed by us as an intervention worker and as a Key Worker in Big Bears.

Keyworker Letter

Hello, my name is Sophie. I’m 21 years old and am just finishing off my studies at the University of Chester. For the past 3 years I have been studying for my ‘Early Childhood Studies’ degree, and by June this year I will officially have graduated! As part of my University course I had the chance to undertake (my first ever!!) placement in a nursery for 5 weeks in my first year. Luckily for me, this was at Sandy Bears Nursery. Instantly I knew that working with children, especially in such a fantastic and loving environment, was going to be so rewarding. I was fortunate enough that Astone and Laura offered me a place on their supply staff list, and a year later, when another member of staff had to take early maternity, I started working at Sandy Bears. That was April 2016, so I have been an official member of the team for a year now. I am really looking forward to finishing at university so that I can dedicate all my time to the children. It will be a privilege to be your child’s key worker, and to have that special bond so that they always feel comfortable and happy and can thrive! I am looking forward to monitoring their progress so that I can better help them learn and develop. My role will also be to get to know you, the parents, to be your first point of contact at the nursery, and so that we can together best support your child’s learning and development. I can’t wait to get to know you all!

Here are some facts about me, so that you can know a little bit about me too.
My favourite animal is a pig, but I also love my pets at my parents’ home in Surrey. We have a dog, a cat and 4 chickens. I am also hoping to get 2 guinea pigs soon!
I love to go skiing, as my grandmother is Swiss so I have been brought up to love the snow. I love reading, and my favourite book is ‘Captain Corelli’s Mandolin’.

Love, Sophie x

To Top ↑